The Halloween Franchise: Exploring the Multiversal Continuity of Michael Myers


The Halloween Franchise: A Multiversal Continuity

The horror genre is known for its long-running franchises that have proven highly profitable. One of the standout horror movies in this genre is undoubtedly John Carpenter’s original 1978 Halloween. Since its release, the villainous Michael Myers has never strayed far from the theaters. However, with numerous movies released over the years, the various timelines can become confusing. But fear not! This list aims to explain the multiversal continuity of the Halloween franchise, ensuring that you are well-equipped to understand the murderous adventures of Michael Myers.

The Original Halloween and Sequel

The Halloween franchise kicked off with John Carpenter’s original movie in 1978. Despite being a small independent production, it became a massive hit and launched the career of the iconic Jamie Lee Curtis. The first movie’s success led to a quick green light for a sequel, Halloween II, which was released in 1981. Carpenter co-wrote the script but did not direct. This sequel revealed a significant plot point: Michael Myers is Laurie Strode’s brother, as the Strode family adopted her. This revelation would heavily influence future installments, although the recent Blumhouse trilogy chose to ignore this relationship. Carpenter himself has even expressed his disdain for making them siblings. Following the second movie, the timelines of Halloween begin to splinter.

The Jamie Trilogy

After the unconventional release of Halloween III: Season of the Witch, the franchise embarked on a new trilogy of movies. Jamie Lee Curtis took a hiatus from the role of Laurie Strode, and the focus shifted to Danielle Harris’ character, Jamie Lloyd. Jamie is revealed to be Laurie’s daughter, whom she had given up for adoption. Michael Myers fixates on Jamie in a series of films. It’s important to note that the plotline of Laurie giving up her child for adoption is unique to this specific trilogy of Halloween movies. Jamie’s journey as a final girl is distinctly different, given the power dynamic with Michael Myers. In Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers, an older Jamie is killed by Michael, who then turns his attention to Jamie’s daughter. Although these three movies’ events are not carried through to future sequels, Halloween fans fondly remember them.

Halloween: H20 and Resurrection

She was following a three-year hiatus after The Curse of Michael Myers, another Halloween movie, was released in 1998, Halloween: H20: 20 Years Later. Jamie Lee Curtis reprised her role as Laurie Strode and the film disregarded the events of the previous three movies. H20 introduced an adult, Laurie, now using a different name and working as the headmistress of a prestigious boarding school. Her son, John, played by Josh Hartnett, is among the students. Laurie in this version is similar to the Laurie portrayed in the recent Blumhouse movies. She is haunted by her traumatic experiences with Michael, having visions of the masked killer before he eventually finds and attacks her. Alcohol serves as her coping mechanism. It’s worth noting that Laurie’s fate in the subsequent sequel, Halloween: Resurrection, sparked controversy among fans. She is famously killed off in the opening sequence. However, Laurie’s journey as the beloved final girl doesn’t end there.

The Blumhouse Halloween Trilogy

A significant turning point in the Halloween franchise came with the release of David Gordon Green’s trilogy of Blumhouse Halloween movies. The 2018 movie was a direct follow-up to the original 1978 film and disregarded all the previous sequels. Green’s Halloween broke box office records and expanded into a full-fledged trilogy. One significant change in this trilogy is that Laurie Strode and Michael Myers are no longer related. Instead, Michael functions as an agent of chaos, randomly killing and sparing residents of Haddonfield. The conclusion of Halloween Ends seemingly brings Laurie and Michael’s conflict to an end, and Jamie Lee Curtis is not expected to return to the franchise. However, there are reportedly plans for another Halloween reboot in the works, creating yet another timeline for the horror series.

Rob Zombie’s Pair of Movies

The pair of movies directed by Rob Zombie provides a modern take on the events of the original Halloween film. Set in the late ’90s, these movies feature revamped versions of classic characters like Laurie, Annie, and Dr. Loomis. Zombie’s movies are known for their graphic and brutal tone, which sets them apart from the rest of the franchise. Although these movies received mixed responses from fans, they offered a welcomed return for actress Danielle Harris, who played Jamie Lloyd and now portrays Laurie’s friend Annie. Notably, the Zombie Halloween movies allowed Annie to survive and continue into the sequel—an exciting departure from the original Halloween.

Bonus: Season of the Witch

Halloween III: Season of the Witch is the franchise’s most distinctive entry. Unlike the other films, this installment does not feature Michael Myers. Instead, it delves into the realm of magic. Fans often ignore season of the Witch due to its disconnection from Michael and the rest of the franchise. It stands alone on its island within the Halloween universe. Interestingly, the director of Halloween Ends contemplated connecting Season of the Witch to the Blumhouse trilogy but kept it separate from the other movies.

In conclusion, the Halloween franchise’s multiversal continuity is a complex and fascinating journey through various timelines, each offering a unique perspective on the infamous Michael Myers. Whether you’re a fan of the original classic, the Jamie Trilogy, the H20 timeline, or the modern Blumhouse reimagining, there’s a Halloween movie for every horror enthusiast. So, the next time you’re planning a Halloween movie marathon, you’ll be well-prepared to navigate the intricate web of this iconic horror series.

Exit mobile version